Email from Danny at Three Bellows Bakery

Hi Folks,
 
I sincerely apologize for this incredible late notice! I have canceled the bake fortomorrow (Tuesday July 1st).
 
Today I was in the field with my farming partner George Allen of Red Tail Farm. We began our harvest of our 3 acres of hard wheat that we are growing this season! We had some serious mechanical difficulties with our combine and spent the majority of the day fixing it. It’s a Massey Harris pull-behind combine from the 1940s! Amazing piece of equipment, but very finicky. We have a short window of time here in which the wheat is dry enough to harvest before rain comes. So my plan of a single day of harvest has turned into two, which means that I am unable to get to the bakery to bake you all bread!
 
Here are some pics of today. So exciting!!
 

As I am going away next week, this means that I will not be able to bake until my return from the west coast, which will be in August. I am deeply sorry for the inconvenience this may cause.
 
For those of you in the CSB who have already paid for their loaves this week, we can do a couple things, I can give you a refund for what I owe you, or I can simply owe you for the next time I bake. Please let me know which option you would like, and I will be more than happy to oblige.
 
If you are interested in the Wheat Project, I will be updating the website soon with that story, more pictures, and videos. This is the second year we have attempted to grow hard wheat, and we are absolutely thrilled to be getting a harvest this go round.
 
With all my baking joy and love,
Danny
Leave a Reply

